Our church has been welcoming families and individuals since the establishment of the town of Ridgefield. Located by the fountain at the intersection of Main Street and West Lane (Routes 35 and 33), we have a rich history of Christian service to the wider community, vibrant worship of God, faithful ministry with children and youth, and supportive fellowship with one another.


Beliefs
We stand in the historic tradition of the Christian faith, rooted in the Bible as God’s Word, worshiping the triune God – Father, Son, and Holy Spirit – following Jesus Christ as Savior and Lord, and seeking to embody the gospel in our world today. Our purpose statement affirms: “We gather together, sustained by the Holy Spirit, to worship God, to nurture people in faith, to grow as disciples of Christ, and to minister to others.”

Organization
The church is governed by a Church Council, consisting of representatives of the seven Ministries of the church and of various committees. As a Congregational church, authority resides with the members themselves under the Lordship of Jesus Christ. Leaders are elected annually at a congregational meeting, and ministers are called by congregational vote. The congregation belongs to the Connecticut Conference of the United Church of Christ.

History
For its 300th anniversary the church adopted as a tercentenary motto, Making the Good News Happen: 1712-2012 . . .

The church was first gathered in Ridgefield just four years after the establishment of the town. Civic leaders in October 1712 successfully petitioned the Connecticut General Assembly for permission to levy a tax for “the settling and maintaining of the ministry in the said Town of Ridgefield.” The Rev. Thomas Hauley, the first minister, also served as town clerk and school teacher. The first meeting house, on the town green, opened for worship in 1726.

Jonathan Ingersoll, pastor from 1736 to 1778, oversaw the church’s growth during the French and Indian Wars and the coming of the Revolution. Plans for a new meeting house were drawn up in 1771, but construction was not complete until 1800, during the pastorate of Samuel Goodrich (1786-1811). This second meeting house, also on the green, was built in a more churchly style with a steeple.

The 1800s saw vast changes in Ridgefield and the life of the church, under a succession of ministers. Developments in worship included the introduction of an organ, a choir, and many new hymns. The church moved from the green to its present house of worship in 1888. Twentieth-century pastors Andrew Gerrie (1900-1915), Hugh Shields (1919-1955), Clayton Lund (1956-1986), and William Nigh (1987-1994) solidified the church’s role in the town. Lay and pastoral leadership over the last two decades set the course for the congregation to continue Making the Good News Happen: 1712-2012 . . .